High tide and strong wind

I had a day off, yet still a massive to-do list.  The morning was slow, with burnt toast and lounging about in my red dressing gown as I sipped the third cup of coffee and between loading the laundry and other mundane household jobs. Which at least can be crossed from the to-do list.   

Sunshine streaming though the window, it was time to shake a leg, get on with it and pull my cycling gear on, and get out for a quick spin not going very far, but beating two personal speed bests. 
First on the fire-station hill, which is a steep short climb, and I’m particularly proud to have got up it in 30 seconds, even if I was aiming for under half minute.  Doris my bike did a quick lap around the Cliftonville library, more honestly, I had forgotten that the library is closed on a Wednesday, as I road up to the toast-rack bike park, I wondered why the lights were off and then annoyed with myself just kept going past the doors and into the park, before turning right back to the road towards Palm Bay.  Originally my plans were to pick up a book, and get some exercise along the coast to a sunny sheltered spot with a delightful cafe, where I would enjoy the book in the fresh air, before perhaps climbing onto the rocks to find some oysters which I thought I might wrap in bacon for dinner.
The gusty wind in my face, and the tide to high to get onto the rocks and no book in my back.  I decided to change my plans just head home.   Well a day off is a day off and sometimes we need to just sit back and do nothing and think about ‘the big idea’ even if you haven’t picked up the book.
Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close