Toil for A Living

It’s a few days since I returned from Turkey and already I’ve had moments when I’m thinking about my next holiday. Guess now that I’m back in Britain and doing a ‘normal’ job, this is working life: Working to pay the bills, and daydreaming about what to do with my time off.

During my holiday, my feet hardly hit the ground, it isn’t possible to catch up with twenty years of old friends in just five or six days, so every hour was filled, now that I’m back at work I’m twiddling my thumbs a bit.

After so many years of very intense contract work, I’m finding the British work ethic hard to handle, and it seems strange to have so much leisure time during the normal working week. Don’t get me wrong, I’m enjoying it and making the most of it, and that was one of the reasons I came ‘home’, certainly I haven’t forgotten how to play hard, and I don’t ever want to forget, how to work hard! 😉
It niggles me when people I work with, talk about toil, when they actually mean “T.O.I.L.”. For those of you like me, who didn’t know what that acronym means, it’s Time off in Lieu. Embarrassedly I admit it, it took me a few moments to figure out that one. Have I been out of the UK for so long, that the English language no longer comes naturally? No it is that, they do not use the language in the correct context. Of course I know what ‘toil’ is and that is what I expect to do when I’m at work.
Surly it is natural, that if I should be needed, I will go into work a bit early or leave a bit late, sometimes cover for others, isn’t that the basics of being part of a team.
Work hard, Play hard, that has been my motto since the days when I was skiing, surly it’s normal to put in a bit of effort. My job is worthy of my time, thought and energy, it is rewarding and satisfying to do a good job. Why oh why, is it necessary to fill out a piece of paper for fifteen minutes here, or ten minutes there? Surly it is a game of give and take, all I can surmise is that some have abused trust, so now there is none.

Shame, oh Shame.

By the way my other pet hate, is ticking sodding boxes. Just because the box is ticked doesn’t mean that the bloody floor has been cleaned properly! My question is ‘How build can we build on trust and respect, create some loyalty to the job?” So that we can get rid of these bits of paper, there should be no need for them.

Leave a Reply

